Why little black books instead of phones and computers

Alicia:

This is great! I have always used a notebook. Even more, I still use an agenda. A leather one which requires me to buy pages every year. My friends make fun of me when I pull out my notebook and agenda and they pull out their smart phones: I could care less. I have always used notebooks, always will! Whether it’s to write down ideas, designs, goals, or a grocery list, there’s nothing like getting what’s in your brain on paper. It’s therapeutic! I buy good ones when they’re on sale and as such always have several of them sitting on my shelf, waiting for ink to bring life to their pages. Speaking of which….off I go to sketch out some jewellery designs….

Originally posted on The Story's Story:

“Despite being a denizen of the digital world, or maybe because he knew too well its isolating potential, Jobs was a strong believer in face-to-face meetings.” That’s from Walter Isaacson’s biography of Steve Jobs. It’s a strange way to begin a post about notebooks, but Jobs’ views on the power of a potentially anachronistic practice applies to other seemingly anachronistic practices. I’m a believer in notebooks, though I’m hardly a luddite and use a computer too much.

The notebook has an immediate tactile advantage over phones: they aren’t connected to the Internet. It’s intimate in a way computers aren’t. A notebook has never interrupted me with a screen that says, “Wuz up?” Notebooks are easy to use without thinking. I know where I have everything I’ve written on-the-go over the last eight years: in the same stack. It’s easy to draw on paper. I don’t have to manage files…

View original 1,534 more words

Leave a Reply

